The Bach Choir: Roxanna Panufnik - Four Choral Seasons

World premiere of the latest work by a famous British composer of Polish heritage


Thursday 17 October 2019, 7.30 PM

Southbank Centre

Belvedere Rd


London SE1 8XX


Great poetry marks the seasons in a new work for choir and orchestra by Roxanna Panufnik, presented by the Bach Choir and conductor David Hill.

The world premiere opens the choir’s 2019/20 season.

Four Choral Seasons sets poems by Christina Rosetti, Gerard Manley Hopkins and Shakespeare.

The piece commences with Laurence Binyon’s evocative poem beginning 'Now is the time for the burning of the leaves.’

Alongside it, cellist Raphael Wallfisch performs the final work of composer Ernest Bloch’s Jewish Cycle, Schelomo.

A majestic journey for cello and orchestra, it tells the tale of King Solomon.

The choir also performs Delius' Sea Drift, an intensely emotional work full of rich choral harmony, based on the poignant story of two seabirds in Walt Whitman's poem Leaves of Grass.


Philharmonia OrchestraDavid Hill conductorRaphael Wallfisch celloDuncan Rock baritoneThe Bach Choir


Roxanna Panufnik: Four Choral Seasons (World premiere)Bloch: Schelomo - Hebraic Rhapsody for cello & orchestraIntervalDebussy: La merDelius: Sea Drift

Polish Cultural Institute
Copyrights © 2009-2020 Polish Cultural Institute. All rights reserved