Quatuor Danel

Part of the Weinberg/Shostakovich Cycle


Wednesday 25 March 2020, 7.30PM

Wigmore Hall

36 Wigmore Street

London W1U 2BP


Currently essaying a dual cycle of two composers who were mutual supporters as well as friends, the Russian-specialist French ensemble places Weinberg’s Fourth Quartet (1945) in between two consecutive works of Shostakovich dating respectively from 1949 and 1952.


Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)

String Quartet No. 4 in D Op. 83

Mieczysław Weinberg (1919-1996)

String Quartet No. 4 Op. 20


Dmitry Shostakovich

String Quartet No. 5 in B flat Op. 92

Polish Cultural Institute
Copyrights © 2009-2020 Polish Cultural Institute. All rights reserved