Piotr Anderszewski playing Mozart's Concerto No 25

Polish pianist performing with the London Symphony Orchestra


Barbican Centre
Silk Street
London EC2Y 8DS

15 March, 7.30pm
London Symphony Orchestra
Tickets: £55 £40 £30 £20 £15

SCHUMANN Overture: Genoveva
MOZART Piano Concerto No 25 K503
SCHUMANN Overture, Scherzo and Finale
SCHUMANN Symphony No 4

Sir John Eliot Gardiner: conductor
Piotr Anderszewski: piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Polish pianist Piotr Anderszewski is performing with the London Symphony Orchestra and Sir John Eliot Gardiner. He will be playing Mozart’s Piano Concerto No 25 alongside a programme of Schumann.

Schumann’s Overture, Scherzo and Finale was originally conceived as a symphony, or 'symphonette' as he liked to call it, but having no slow movement he eventually republished it as this three-movement work. The Fourth Symphony was also revised by Schumann after the unsuccessful premiere. However, in the face of opposition from Clara, Brahms later revived the original version, presented in this concert, which he considered lighter and more transparent in texture.

Polish Cultural Institute
Copyrights © 2009-2018 Polish Cultural Institute. All rights reserved