The Art and Folk Music of Eastern Europe

London Phoenix Orchestra plays Witold Lutosławski’s Little Suite among others


29 June, 7.30pm
Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace
SW1X 9DQ London

An evening of music inspired by the Art and Folk Music of Eastern Europe, journeying from Poland to the highlands of Armenia, through to Russia. The concert opens with Witold Lutosławski’s Little Suite. Then brilliant Armenian violinist Ani Batikian joins the London Phoenix Orchestra, conducted by Levon Parikian, in Aram Khachaturian’s exuberant Violin Concerto, a work inspired by the dances and folk melodies of the medieval Armenian bards called ashughs.
The orchestra continues with Roland Roberts’ world premiere of The Ninth Wave, a homage to the Russian-Armenian marine painter Ivan Aivazovsky and a celebration of 200th anniversary of his birth. The evening is concluded by Maurice Ravel’s famous 1922 orchestral arrangement of Modest Mussorgsky’s evocative progress through his Pictures at an Exhibition.
The concert is sponsored by the Tekeyan Cultural Association which promotes British-Armenian arts, music and culture, and affiliated with the Tekeyan Trust, a UK-registered charity.

Polish Cultural Institute
Copyrights © 2009-2018 Polish Cultural Institute. All rights reserved