Found in Translation Award 2018

Call for nominations – deadline: March 1



The Polish Book Institute, Polish Cultural Institute in London and Polish Cultural Institute in New York invite everyone to submit nominations to the Found in Translation Award 2018.

The Found in Translation Award is given annually to the translator or translators of the best translation of a work of Polish literature into English that was published as a book in the preceding calendar year.

Candidates for the Award can be nominated by private persons as well as institutions in Poland and abroad.

Please email you nomination to the Polish Book Institute at

The nomination must include the book title, name of the author, name of the translator, publisher, and the reasons for the nomination.

The deadline for sending nominations is March 1.

The Award consists of a diploma, a month-long residency in Kraków, with lodging, a stipend in the amount of 2,000 PLN, an airline ticket to and from Krakow, and a financial award of 16,000 PLN funded in equal parts by the Polish Book Institute, the Polish Cultural Institute in London, and the Polish Cultural Institute in New York.



2017 - Piotr Florczyk for Building the Barricade by Anna Świrszczyńska (Tavern Books, 2016)
2016 - Bill Johnston for Twelve Stations by Tomasz Różycki (Zephyr Press, 2015)
2015 - Ursula Phillips for Choucas by Zofia Nałkowska (Northern Illinois University Press, 2014)
2014 - Philip Boehm for Chasing the King of Hearts by Hanna Krall (Peirene Press, 2013)
2013 - Antonia Lloyd-Jones for the entirety of her translating output in 2012: Paweł Huelle's Cold Sea Stories (Comma Press), Jacek Dehnel's Saturn (Dedalus Press), Zygmunt Miłoszewski's A Grain of Truth (Bitter Lemon Press), Artur Domosławski's Ryszard Kapuściński, A Life (Verso Books), Wojciech Jagielski's The Night Wanderers (Seven Stories & Old Street Publishing), Andrzej Szczeklik's Kore: On Sickness, the Sick and the Search for the Soul of Medicine (Counterpoint Press), Janusz Korczak's Kaytek the Wizard (Urim Publications/Penlight Press)
2012 - Joanna Trzeciak for Sobbing Superpower by Tadeusz Różewicz (W. W. Norton & Company, 2011)
2011 - Clare Cavanagh and Stanisław Barańczak for Here by Wisława Szymborska (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2010)
2010 - Danuta Borchardt for Pornografia by Witold Gombrowicz (Grove Press, 2009)
2009 - Antonia Lloyd-Jones for The Last Supper by Paweł Huelle (Serpent's Tail, 2008)
2008 - Bill Johnston for New Poems by Tadeusz Różewicz (Archipelago Books, 2007)

Polish Cultural Institute
Copyrights © 2009-2019 Polish Cultural Institute. All rights reserved